World Heritage Sites Chosen

UNESCO has named eight new World Heritage Sites: the Socotra Archipelago in Yemen, Canada’s Joggins Fossil Cliffs, the French Lagoons of New Caledonia, Saryarka in Northern Kazakhstan, Mount Sanqingshan National Park in China, Surtsey in Iceland, the Swiss Tectonic Arena Sardona, and the Monarch Butterfly Biosphere Reserve in Mexico. The addition of eight new World Heritage sites, evaluated by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature, brings to 182 the number of sites selected for their biodiversity, natural history, and beauty.